Kentucky Senate

From FreedomKentucky
Jump to: navigation, search

The Kentucky Senate is the upper house of the Kentucky General Assembly. The Kentucky Senate is composed of 38 members elected from single-member districts throughout the Commonwealth. There are no term limits for Kentucky Senators. The Kentucky Senate meets at the Kentucky State Capitol in Frankfort. The Senate is responsible for electing the President of the Senate who presides over the senate and also becomes acting governor in the event that the Governor and Lieutenant Governor die, resign, or are removed from office. Up until 1993, the Lieutenant Governor acted as the President of the Senate. Senators serve four year terms which are staggered so that half the senate is elected every two years. In order to be eligible for election to the senate, candidates must:

  • Be a citizen of Kentucky
  • Be at least 30 years of age
  • Resided in Kentucky for at least 6 years
  • Resided in their district for at least 1 year

See Also