Mayor’s Commission on the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act

From FreedomKentucky
Jump to: navigation, search

The Mayor’s Commission on the American Recovery and Reinvestment Plan will provide recommendations on stimulus funding Lexington, Kentucky may receive.

Mayor Jim Newberry established the group on Jan. 31 to set spending priorities in anticipation of receiving funds, and to use best practices to oversee the expenditure of such funds.


The Commission meets at 3 p.m. each Friday in the third floor conference room in the Phoenix Building, 101 E. Vine St. The meetings are open to the public and are televised live on G-TV Channel 3, and streamed live over the internet at You can E-mail the commission with questions or comments at

Minutes of the meetings can be found here.


  • Provide recommendations to the Mayor, Council and community for how any available funds should be spent.
  • Monitor the expenditure of those funds to ensure the optimum public benefit.
  • Develop means by which the public can access information about the status of projects funded by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Plan.

Members of the Commission

Government Representatives:

Community representatives:

City officials:

  • Senior Adviser Joe Kelly
  • Commissioner of Public Works Mike Webb
  • Commissioner of Environmental Quality Cheryl Taylor
  • Acting Commissioner of Finance and Administration Bill O’Mara
  • Public Safety Commissioner Tim Bennett
  • Social Services Commissioner Marlene Helm
  • Chief Information Officer Rama Dhuwaraha


See Also